Skip to content

Giving Yourself Compassion….

June 12, 2016

“Ugh, I can’t believe I DID that!”

“Things in my family are a mess…how did this happen?”

“Sometimes I just want to run away.”

“I wish I could STOP losing my temper and stay calm.  What is wrong with me?!?!”

UPDATE!!!!  This recorded webinar is now available for purchase on my website!!!  CLICK HERE!!!

These statements have something really important in common….maybe what they have in common for you is that they are all things you’ve thought.  Maybe even recently.  But even if you haven’t had all of these thoughts…or any of them…one thing they have in common is they all signal a moment of suffering.

Compassion emerges when we can mindfully see suffering.  We don’t minimize or exaggerate, but recognize it mindfully.  We lean into the suffering instead of running away.  When we see someone else’s suffering and then realize that we are familiar with the feeling of suffering…we can relate….compassion naturally emerges.

Self -Compassion Blog

So why does compassion get so difficult when we attempt to turn that toward ourselves?

Maybe you think you don’t deserve compassion.

Maybe you worry compassion will let you off the hook and then you won’t change.

Maybe you think compassion is ‘soft’ or will make you ‘soft.’

Maybe confronting your own suffering with kindness feels too unfamiliar or uncomfortable.

I get it.  I’ve moved through some of these worries myself, and I’ve been with moms and dads who have moved through those worries.

What I’ve been blown-away by is how a practice of self-compassion has improved my overall feelings of calm and contentedness.  It’s an idea I can apply to absolutely everything and I can guarantee that self-compassion hasn’t made me sit back on my laurels and accept the unacceptable…the exact opposite is true.

I’d absolutely love to connect with you more about self-compassion!  I’m hosting my first ever webinar on Tuesday (THIS Tuesday, June 14) and it’s all about self-compassion.  It’s only an hour, and you can watch it live or just receive the recording.  I listen to a lot of webinars on my drive into work (obviously I just listen, I don’t watch them while driving!!!) because I have a loooooong commute and love listening to different ideas during that commute.

If you’d like to check out a little more information about the webinar OR you are ready to register, you can CLICK HERE.

Do you have stories about using self-compassion in your own life?  Or ideas for future webinars?  Leave me a comment!  I’d love to hear from you!

UPDATE!!!!  This recorded webinar is now available for purchase on my website!!!  CLICK HERE!!!

~

 

060814_1243_TheTragedyo1.jpg

 

 

Like what you read here?  To get even more support, click here to sign up for my monthly (or less) newsletter!

Robyn Gobbel, LCSW is a child and family therapist in Austin, Texas specializing in adoption, trauma, and attachment counseling. She is the founder of the Central Texas Attachment & Trauma Center.

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

