Skip to content

{Webiner} Self-Compassion: Helping Connected Parents Connect to Themselves

June 6, 2016

I started studying self-compassion years ago when I could see how difficult it was for my clients to give themselves the grace that they could so easily give to others.  This intrigued me- I was curious.  So down the rabbit hole I went.  What I learned (which I should have expected) was that I, too, needed a good lesson in self-compassion.

UPDATE!!!!  This recorded webinar is now available for purchase on my website!!!  CLICK HERE!!!

You can read more about the webinar and register by clicking here!!

 

self compassion

One of the coolest things about self-compassion (well, according to this brain-geek therapist) is that there is so much SCIENCE behind the importance of self-compassion.  I hear over and over again from the parents I work with that self-care is just a joke.  First, they don’t have time.  Second, they have no one willing to watch their kids.  Third, even if they had time and baby-sitters, taking time away from their kids makes things WORSE and completely negates any type of self-care they were hoping to achieve.  Sometimes the parents I work with have to come to grips with the fact that pedicures, massages, and golf outings are just not a part of their current parenting journey.  But self-care is non-negotiable.  Absolutely non-negotiable.  Children with attachment wounds rely on us to be in a calm and connected place so that they begin to trust the safety of relationship.  I’ve realizing that self-compassion is a profoundly powerful experience that be accessed in a split second, can quickly calm the nervous system and allow us to move into a place that is safe for our children to connect with, AND when practiced repeatedly is actually a much more useful act of self-care than a martini or coffee with your best friend ever could be.  Self-compassion has the power to help you become your own best friend.  A kind, loving, and supportive friend.  Who is always there.

Why would I launch my webinar series with a webinar on self-compassion?  Parents want me to tell them what to do, not be all touchy-feeling about self-compassion.  Right?

I believe the impact of self-compassion can be so profound that I was determined to make it my very first ever webinar.  I’ve seen it happen in my own life, and I’ve seen it happen in the lives of my clients.  I’ve watch years of negative self-talk and the resulting stuck negative behaviors dramatically shift.  It’s as if they are able to see something that’s always been there- something they didn’t know was there but now that they can see it (self-compassion) it is so CLEAR that it has actually always been there.  My job is awesome.

I’m doing my first webinar on self-compassion because I’ve come to believe totally and completely that tools are absolutely useless when parents are in a state of reactivity.  On edge.  Overwhelmed.  Hopeless.  “Just tell me what to do!!!” is like a secret code to me- what I hear is “I am so overwhelmed that even if there was a magic answer (there isn’t) I wouldn’t be able to do it anyway!!!”  Self-compassion.  Self-compassion can help you shift into a state where if I told you what to do, you would actually be able to do it.  But the coolest thing is that once you shift into that open state that emerges from self-compassion, you very rarely even need to be told what to do.  The ‘what to do’ becomes clear.

Self compassion isn’t some sort of cure-all.  It takes practice and repetition.  But I’ve seen it become the gift that just keeps on giving (it’s a lot like glitter).  Something so simple.  Something that can be done in an instant.

I’d be honored if you’d join me! Please click here to read more and register!!

UPDATE!!!!  This recorded webinar is now available for purchase on my website!!!  CLICK HERE!!!

~

060814_1243_TheTragedyo1.jpg

 

 

Like what you read here?  To get even more support, click here to sign up for my monthly (or less) newsletter!

Robyn Gobbel, LCSW is a child and family therapist in Austin, Texas specializing in adoption, trauma, and attachment counseling. She is the founder of the Central Texas Attachment & Trauma Center.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

