Skip to content

Self-Care Sunday – Cutting Out Non-Essentials

May 26, 2013

You’ve noticed that I have had a pretty quiet month on the blog. When life gets crazy, I go into “cutting out ALL non-essentials” mode.

May is usually a bit of a whirlwind. The end of the school year adds a lot of extra events to my calendar. There are special events and holidays. I went to a three-day training in Houston, spent one weekend out of town, and enjoyed a pretty great Mother’s Day. I have a client scheduled literally every hour I’m in the office, and often have a “cancellation” list going. It’s great in some regards, but really difficult in others. Therefore, the last two weeks have been designated “cutting out ALL non-essentials” weeks. This unfortunately included blogging!

What do you fall back on when life starts to swirl up around you? Do you have friends you ask for help? Are you able to step back and look at the bigger picture? It’s hard! After years and years of just muscling through the hard stuff, I finally realized that my go-to emotion when things get crazy is overwhelm. If I can reduce the overwhelm, I can lower my stress and improve my ability to think clearly. Reducing the overwhelm means that I have to look carefully at why I’m doing certain things. If I can’t articulate a clear and convincing argument, then I cut it out. Only temporarily. This gives me permission to prioritize and come back to it later. So when I take a break from blogging, I know it’s just a little break and I can easily pick it back up as soon as I have the mental space to tend to it.

Blogging isn’t the only thing I took a break from these past two weeks! My house is a little messier than usual and I have put a few other projects on hold. Only temporarily!

So now I’m off to clean up the kitchen, tackle some laundry, organize my home office, and get some home studies out in the mail!

~


Like what you read here?  To get more trauma momma support, click here to sign up for my monthly newsletter!

Robyn Gobbel, LCSW is a child and family therapist in Austin, Texas specializing in adoption, trauma, and attachment counseling. She is the founder of the Central Texas Attachment & Trauma Center.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

