Skip to content

Self-Care Sunday- What does Self-Care look like TODAY?

May 5, 2013

We can’t talk about self-care without touching on the fact that momma needs time just for her. It doesn’t really matter what you do with that time- as long as it nourishes your soul, removes a layer of stress from your life, or serves whatever self-care goal you have for yourself- TODAY. Our self-care goals and prioritizes change every day. What is it- TODAY?

Today is Sunday. I sent my family into the city to attend an event while I stayed home to get some work done. This might seem like the opposite of self-care, but really it was just what I needed. We spent the entire day yesterday doing a fun family activity. Today I needed some time to get some work done and do some chores. Having peace and quiet in the house, plus a full afternoon to just focus on what I needed to get done, is absolutely self-care. At the end of the day, my stress level will be exponentially decreased because I’ll have a HUGE jump start on everything I need to do this upcoming week. It’s quiet. I’m sitting outside on our back porch. I’m listening to music I like, drinking coffee, hearing birds sing, feeling a perfect breeze on this gorgeous 75 degree day, and gazing at blue skies. Oh, I also hit my running mileage goal for the week including an amazing six miles this morning! So yes. Staying home from a fun family event in the city was self-care to me, today. Probably next weekend my self-care will be to put work on the back-burner will I enjoy time with my family!

So- what is it for you, today? Not necessarily what does self-care ALWAYS look like for you. But just today. Maybe you run out to get coffee that tastes good. Maybe you read a fiction book that you haven’t gotten to recently because all you read about is how to parent your traumatized child. Maybe you take a bath, get a pedicure, or do one of those default self-care things that we are supposed to enjoy.

What will it be?

~


Like what you read here?  To get more trauma momma support, click here to sign up for my monthly newsletter!

Robyn Gobbel, LCSW is a child and family therapist in Austin, Texas specializing in adoption, trauma, and attachment counseling. She is the founder of the Central Texas Attachment & Trauma Center.

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 5, 2013 1:46 pm

    Hi Robyn. I like your post very much. I guess for me self-care is a real challenge! I kind of enjoy working – I’m not sure whether that makes it work or not and it can sometimes feel stressful. I also enjoy hanging out with my kids and watching the occasional TV program but need to learn to do less and ‘be’ more.

Leave a Reply

