Skip to content

Thursday’s Thought- Where to begin looking for adoption information?

July 1, 2010

Leo from Lubbock, TX asks:

Absolutely! Each state, and each type of adoption (domestic versus international versus foster care), is going to vary with regards to “how to adopt.” I would encourage you to contact a few different agencies and request information packets. There are also several books available that will walk you through the steps of adoption.

If you are looking for information about being an adoptive family or raising an adopted child, I have several excellent resources to direct you to.

In the right hand column of my blog, you’ll see my blog roll. That’s an excellent place to get started. Be sure to read information presented from ALL members of the triad, particularly adult adoptees. I also encourage prospective adoptive families to read about the “anti-adoption” movement. Are you surprised there even is an anti-adoption movement? While I don’t agree with the basic premise of the movement (obviously), there are some valid points to be learned, particularly with regard to ethical and open adoptions and adoptee rights.

In addition to my blog roll, I previously published a post that containes the resource list I give to all of my adoption clients. You can find that post here: Resources and Good Reads.

Good luck to you, Leo!

~

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 28, 2010 5:08 pm

    It would be helpful to have the link to the resources and books in your menu bar next to About.

    Just a thought!

    I just found your blog today and am working my way through 🙂

    • September 29, 2010 8:50 am

      Monica-
      Thanks for stopping by. That’s a great idea- I can add something to the side bar or create a tab for resources. Thanks for the feedback! Hope you are enjoying the blog!

      ~Robyn

Leave a Reply

