Skip to content

Wrapping up “The Many Hats of Supervision”

January 10, 2010

I initially signed up for this 4-day, 40 hour workshop as a ‘means to an end.’  The course fulfills the requirements to become a Texas Social Work Board Approved Supervisor and I thought I would supervise CPS or home study social workers interested in earning an advanced credential.   I had no idea that I would be able to describe the course as nothing less than serendipitous.

It was wonderful!  Invigorating!  Energizing!

Prior the course, I knew Mr. Andrew Marks and Dr. Dorinda Noble primarily by reputation.  They both have tremendous experience on the Texas State Board of Social Work Examiners- Mr. Marks as the former director and Dr. Noble as the current vice chair.  I didn’t realize how invaluable their experiences as past/present board members would be to the course.

Mr. Marks and Dr. Noble succeeded in making the course fun and stimulating.  The teaching aids, including all audio/visual materials, were excellent.  The 100+ page  binder of information will be invaluable throughout my career.

In addition to learning about how to be an effective supervisor, we focused on how to be an ethical supervisor, as well as hard to be a fair and respected supervisor (particularly in difficult situations).  This information presented applied not only to supervisor/supervisee relationships, but also to clinician/client relationships.  I would recommend this course to ALL clinical social workers (or mental health professionals), novice and seasoned.

But I heard they like to meet in the summer at a beach location.  South Padre?  Galveston?  Corpus?  I suggest signing up for those summer sections!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 11, 2010 8:18 am

    Do you know if they do supervision CUE’s that fulfill the 4 CEU’s that are needed every 2 years once you have earned your LPC-S?

    Kay

    • January 11, 2010 8:27 am

      Kay- I know Marks & Noble provide additional workshops and training opportunities, in addition to the supervision course. I would email either of them and ask to be added to their mailing list.

Leave a Reply

